Meditation needs patience and dedication

“Meditation is a roadless travel, through a pathless land in a timeless journey”

Every time you sit down for meditation, you should do it as though for the first time. Meditation is not an action, because the state of meditation is “being”, not doing. You are not achieving something. As soon as you want to be “successful” with your meditation, want it to be “better” than yesterday or more advanced than your friend’s, you are in your mind. Any identification with your mind and ego means that you are in the past or future rather than in the “now”. It is all about watching the present moment and the state of your mind that is currently active. This state might change during meditation and from day to day. 

When you meditate, you have to be fully involved.

 

Promise to yourself to use the time in order to be with yourself and bravely dive into your inner world. To accept whatever you might encounter. Sometimes during meditation, I get really impatient. This feeling is familiar to me from situations in my daily life.

 

Instead of impatiently stopping the meditation session and giving up and into the feeling, I watch it. It can get quite painful to see the feeling conquering my body and mind. I can feel it in my throat and heartbeat, tense body parts and my mind telling me urgently to get up and stop. But I keep watching and tell myself that there is really nowhere else to go right now. I consciously relax body and breath. Just being, sitting, breathing - the only thing that matters now.

 

The biggest gift I can give to myself is to be in the presence of my limitless and never changing awareness. 

 

Meditation does not come easy.

 

Do not underestimate what's going on under the calm face and posture of a meditator. He might be fighting the biggest battles with himself. By doing so, he is slowly uncovering the mask of his believed identity. Formed by years of learning, experiencing and conditioning.

 

It needs a lot of dedication to sit with yourself again and again and to face your false truths. There will be moments of beautiful, pure silence - like a crystal clear lake in the valley. Until you have to climb the mountain again to face your emotions and understand the war of random thoughts, based on artificially created inner believes. 

 

Everything is changing all the time and this is completely normal. Life is changing and what makes us suffer is our refusal to accept the change. Be patient and gentle with yourself. It is worth the journey of self-discovery…

Write a comment

Comments: 0